Tuesday, 16 June 2009

The Scrutiny Group

The University Council (the governing body) has set up a scrutiny group to examine the situation at the Centre for Lifelong Learning.

Its terms of reference are:

***To review the current business case put forward for the reduction of activity and staff within the Centre for Lifelong Learning (LEARN);
***To review the process followed in undertaking the review of LEARN’s activities, development of the business case, and the communications with staff, students and trade unions; and
***To advise Council and Senate at their next meeting on recommended actions for the immediate, short, medium and longer term that will take the centre of Lifelong Learning (LEARN) forward in a sustainable way, within the overall context of the University’s strategic priorities and financial sustainability.

The scrutiny group is chaired by Professor Roy Evans, formerly the Vice-Chancellor of Bangor University. The other members are:
Mr. Gethin Lewis (Lay member of Council)
Professor Gillian Douglas (Head of Cardiff Law School)
Professor Elizabeth Treasure (Head of the School of Dentistry)
Professor Tim Wess (Head of the School of Optometry and Vision Sciences)
Mr. Nick Yates (Student Union).

The scrutiny group met for the first time on 12 June. There are further meetings on 23 June and 6 July. It has agreed to receive a deputation from the campaign.

No comments:

Post a Comment